My Response to “Rocks and Baby Steps”

I learned something today. WordPress does not like, or will they print, a comment that is as long, or longer, that the actual post. *sigh*

A friend inspired me so much today with her blog and the daily question, see http://www.carisroane.com/rocks-and-baby-steps/, that I got carried away with my comment. It wouldn’t print. *sadness* I ended up with a rather uninspired summery that really didn’t share what I had wanted to.

What to do? Wait a minute! I have my own blog. I can write what I wanted here! So, let’s see if I can remember what I wrote. The question was: “. . . please leave a comment about any past experiences you’ve had with rocks. Have you ever collected them? Did you enjoy skipping them along the surface of a lake? Admired how pretty they are in a stream? Marveled at what they look like polished? Sat on them? Fallen from big rocks? Anything about rocks! Share whatever comes to mind.” Here is my response.

Much like beaches (a discussion from last week,) rocks have popped up throughout my life.

My grandfather was a rock hound. He hunted rock all the time. He labeled them and displayed them in hand made cases. He also thought all of us grandchildren should be introduced to the joys of rock hunting. Me? I just enjoyed spending time with my grandfather outside. Who cares about rocks? But that trip to Lake Superior looking for agates . . . Amazing stones there.

Looking for agates

When I was a bit older, we moved to the upper peninsula of Michigan to a place called Granite Bluff, an unincorporated section near Iron Mountain. Mom and Dad bought a two acre former potato field and proceeded to start clearing it for building. After we lined the drain field for the septic system, there was still a rather large pile of rock left in our back yard. It was left there while the house went up and we moved in. You can imagine how excited we all were to so much as think about moving the huge (Yes, I think it grew.) pile of rocks now that we were settled. My mother solved the issue by filling the nooks and crannies with dirt and planting flowers. She ended up with a beautiful “rock garden.”

Do you know that potato fields also grow rocks? I earned “mad” money a couple years by “picking rock” so they could plant potatoes in the neighboring fields. Back breaking work. Didn’t like rocks too much during the time of my life.

Then there was the name sake for that area – Granite Bluff. It was across the road, kind of catty corner to our place. It was this gigantic rock about 50 – 100 feet high, maybe about 50 feet wide, and 200 – 400 feet long. (I am going by ancient memory here so forgive the imprecision of the dimensions.) It had a semi gentle slope up the front that I could climb easily. It was totally awesome! I would climb the thing and “sit on top of the world.” I called it my “thinking rock.” It is where I would go for whatever ailed a hormonal teenager. *coughcoughmothercough* I could see for miles. It was peaceful. Teenage me spent a lot of time sitting on top of that rock.

Later on in my life I met another rock hound. He polished his stones and made some jewelry. Fascinating process. He was also lucky enough to be able to go rock hunting around the world and find more interesting specimens. He had an amazing collection. He gifted me with some raw opal (my birth stone) from Australia. (Probably as close as I will ever get to Australia.) They are beautiful stones and look nothing like the finished opal in a ring I have. I still have them and have no intention of ever polishing them. I like them just the way they are.

Somewhere along the line, I also acquired some raw amber. Memory deserts me here. I just know I have a couple of pieces of raw amber in my jewelry box too. Totally unimpressive, but I find them fascinating.

I also have a small collection of stones I keep in a couple trinket boxes. They are kept for sentimental reasons. Like the pieces of “gold” (fool’s gold actually) that my youngest brother gave me from his gold panning days. The odd “pretty” that my kids gifted me while growing up. A couple of pieces I picked up that had been polished and formed into buttons that I found interesting. I have a piece of Amethyst geode sitting on my book shelf, Amethyst being my favorite gem.

These days I don’t do anything with rocks but look at them now and again. I have enjoyed this trip down memory lane though. I hope y’all enjoyed going with me.

Thank you Caris for the inspiration. By doing this here, you got even more detail and a picture.  Another time I will talk about those “baby steps.” I can do another old blog on that topic. *grin*

About Pansy Petal

I read - a lot! What about you?

Posted on May 24, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Pansy, this was wonderful, exactly the kind of thing I wanted to see in the comments! I love your teenage thinking rock the best! Every kid should have one.

    And yes, do your next blog about ‘baby steps’, lol!

    Hugs,
    Caris

  2. I love looking for agates and other pretties in Superior! And I looooooove rocks. I’m pretty sure there are rocks in every room in my house. I pick them up all the time. My kids still bring them to me. People go on trips and bring me stones. The first time my husband and I ever got in an argument, he found a heart-shaped rock while we were in the middle of working through whatever stupid thing we were arguing about and he gave it to me. I still have it. 🙂

  3. This is just a nice, warm, comforting read. I’ve never been a “stop and smell the roses” type person but “stop and look at the rocks” is exactly the type of person I am. This post brought all those moments back and I didn’t even noticed I had been missing them. Wonderful job writing this and bringing me back into that relaxing world of simple curiosities.

    A) Super jealous about the big rock.
    B) Opal is also my birthstone
    C) ROCK FRIENDS FOR LIFE!!!

Leave a Reply

